Beauty, Skin Care

Get Your Skin Tan Ready!

Hello Beauties,

If you have my snapchat (bellaleesblog) you would see that I received a gorgeous little gift bag from the Castletown Pharmacy and one of the goodies they gave me was the New Bellamianta Tan! ( I am so excited to try this out!! )

I will definitely be doing a blog post on this tan! But I thought I’d take you through it step by step, starting from scratch…..

Welcome to the prepping stage! 🙂

I see a lot of blogs about the actual tan but not to many about how they prep the skin before applying the tan and as a makeup artist skin prep plays a huge part in my books! So here is a few of my pre tanning tips 🙂

First things first … A Shower or a bath, personally when I’m prepping my skin I tend to do both ( I know so much water waste but I love a hot steamy bath )

TIP 1: Exfoliate:

Exfoliate, Exfoliate, Exfoliate!! This will clear the skin of any dead cells and create a smooth surface on the skin for the tan to be applied. I recommend for you to stay clear of exfoliators containing oil, as these will only act as a film on the skin which is fantastic for locking in moisture but not ideal for tanning. To even go that step further for exfoliating I suggest you use an exfoliating glove, these are great if you are trying to remove old tan.

TIP 2: Shaving or Waxing

Any hair removal should be carried out 24 hours prior to tanning but for waxing maybe give it 48 hours depending on how sensitive your skin is. This time period just means your skin has the time to calm down and any little cuts have healed.  If you are shaving please don’t dry shave! This is what causes them red little lumps and sports to form – not a nice look under your tan! Shave in the shower or in the bath and use a shaving foam. I use Olay Satin Care for sensitive skin.

Another little tip for after shaving is you need to close your pores. When you are in a hot bath or a hot shower your pores are opened. These need to be closed before applying tan otherwise you won’t get that smooth skin look. To close your pore at the end of your shower turn the temperature to cold for a minute or 2 and yes it will be a little shock to the system but it works wonders!

TIP 3:     Water Works

That little tip above about the cold water after shaving to close your pores, this also apply’s if you are planning on tanning straight after your shower – just turn the water to cold before you get out and get your pores closed.

TIP 4: Moisturize

Moisturize your Hands, Elbows, Knees, and Feet.

I have started using the Honey House Naturals Bee Butter Citrus Body Butter that I also got in my little goodie bag from Castletown Pharmacy you can buy this for €21.95. It is so nice on your skin, it is thick so you only need to use a little bit which is brilliant because it will last you 🙂

Another little tip for moisturizing is rub the moisturizer over your nails and if you have fair hair rub a little on your hairline and eyebrows to stop them from absorbing the tan and changing colour. 🙂

TIP 5: Post Tan:

After you tan yourself or get a spray tan make sure to wear loose & light clothing like tracksuit bottoms and a baggy t-shirt – I know that doesn’t sound appealing to some of you but hey why wreck your tan? Also for your feet flip-flops would be ideal so your not causing any streaks.

If you are tanning yourself at home maybe slip back into your pyjamas or just chill in your underwear without your bra straps up!

I hope this helps and my next blog post will be my view of this new Bellamianta Tan! I’m super excited about this and can’t wait to share my thoughts with you!

Happy Tanning Lovies <3,

Shannon

Xx

Leave a Reply

